Does a stigma actually exist?

27th September 2015: Sydney, Australia

I constantly perceive a certain stigma is attached to my Cancer diagnosis. Just to note, I am a single 31 year old man, living downstairs at the house of my parents, and am unemployed. Honestly, you would be right in thinking I am not really the best catch in the world, especially bearing in mind other factors associated with the Cancer I was diagnosed with, namely, the fact of remaining for an unknown period of time on Chemotherapy whilst having an anticipated limited life expectancy. For anyone thinking I am in need of sympathy is incorrect. I am not naive, and understand I am unable to predict the future, however, I have confidence in both my survival and continual progression in my life. In saying that, admittedly, a sense of loss is always easy to locate, particularly when reminiscing on the possible missed opportunities in my life. The question seeming to surface from writing is more a question about my fears stemming from a sense of loss, compounded by changes to my identity. Upon recognising this point, I believe the points just mentioned trump the opening comments about the stigma of Cancer, and simply it is my fears and sense of loss feeding into false projection about the stigma attached to my circumstances.

2 thoughts on “Does a stigma actually exist?

  1. If you have allowed your cancer to define your world, who you were, what you were allowed to do, it is normal that you feel a sense of loss because funnily enough it would be like losing an old friend. You need to redefine your boundaries, requirements, desires, in brief everything you are and will be without the cancer. Once you have done that mentally, just set about achieving that physically. We are defined by who we are inside, not by what happened to us, however intimate the association within our bodies. Be well always and use your time wisely, in service of others if you can’t think of anything better

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m fighting stage 3 gastric cancer. I have felt a sense of loss. Grief that I cannot do things I used to do because of chemo I lack the strength. I feel like once you have cancer sone friends automatically think it’s terminal and shy away. Their way of coping. Surround yourself with positive people, go do things. Don’t let this cripple our thoughts. Sending prayers for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

