Gut health, and how it shows my progression

16th August 2015: Melbourne, Australia

I have walked away from the two day Wellness Summit focused on researching the benefits of improving the health of my gut through the use of fermenting foods and traditional broths. The information absorbed throughout the time has introduced me to the microbiome specific within all of us. My reading this morning only reinforces the seemingly build of momentum on the topic within the world of health. Basically, the limited knowledge I have suggests the microbiome is a collection of biomes that drive genetic expression to either turn genes on or off depending on which microbes are present. Therefore, the use of fermented foods and traditional broths will hopefully both combat and restore the havoc caused by antibiotics, chemotherapy and other chemicals exposed to in the environment.

Admittedly, the health of the gut was an area I overlooked till now. In the past, my main emphasis was directed to the broad areas of nutrition, movement, and a shift followed to centre upon my mind. On reflection, the expansion into the area of the gut appears to be the very reflection of an organic evolution into my wellness journey, and fortunately, I had the opportunity of being completely immersed in an environment to facilitate such growth. Furthermore, possibly I was more inclined to focus on making changes to my nutrition and movement, namely, due to the familiarity I have in these areas compared to other more complex matters. Similar to other areas, it seems more advantageous to reach an end point from building blocks at a starting point where some connection can initially made. Otherwise, a compete and utter sense of being overwhelmed could easily cause a halt to any progression. As noted, the starting point for me were the areas of nutrition and movement, and honestly, some fairly difficult times are still experienced in these areas, however, a greater understanding of these areas has allowed the space in my mind to expand into other matters relating to my health and wellness journey.

Leave a Reply

