Am I known as just that Cancer guy?

27th May 2015: Sydney Australia

I still leave for my trip tomorrow, however, it is now a shorted version, and I have hope that my ex-girlfriend will meet me for a week. Till yesterday, it had been a number of months since talking on the phone. Oddly, with everything happening, it felt so normal, elicited such happy emotions, and has intensified a want and need for her to be with me. I am unsure whether it will actually happen, and one of my major concerns is how fair the situation is for her, so will need to wait to see how it unfolds.

The reestablishment of communication had only added to the surreal feelings had in regards to everything happening around me. It was only last week, I was talking about a confidence in knowing the scan was to be ok whilst looking at the prospect of two months away surfing, completing my yoga and continuing my progression. Now, my mind is constantly drifting, knowing I will soon be cut open followed by a round of Radiotherapy. To put it simply, I just want to live a normal life, and not return to this story of me being the Cancer guy.

2 thoughts on “Am I known as just that Cancer guy?

  1. I wish you well with everything you do. Try to enjoy your trip.

    Personally, I see myself as being diagnosed with life, and in my case that comes with cancer. Although I do try to live a normal life despite all the challenges life brings, I do feel a need to not forget about my cancer diagnosis (and other hurtful things) because it helps me feel prepared (it’s part of survivorship). Some people will label this as being negative but it isn’t. This cancer experience though is just one of many life’s experiences (good and bad). I hope most of your experiences are great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

