Mathew McConaughey and the evolving self..

6th May 2015: Sydney, Australia

I have recently come to the position of opposing the belief a certain lifestyle choice can be implemented for the entirety of my life. Upon reflecting on the concept, it appears I have reached the position whereby I feel simply aiming to sustain your life, results in missing on many future opportunities. Ultimately, a point of stagnation. It is agreed that a lifestyle can be sustainable, and I know many populations who sustain their lives over many years, however, on a personal level, I feel a long journey awaits, and can not see myself equipped with all the knowledge and information to support me throughout my life.Therefore, I propose the goal is instead changed to focus on evolving over a lifetime.

An acceptance speech made by Mathew McConaughey involves him making reference to the person he looks up to is himself in ten years time (see link at the bottom of the page). The purpose of the message is to show that he could never match the future version of him, yet, will always inspire to do better. I find this extremely powerful in reinforcing a message about my lifestyle needing to evolve rather than sustain. Of course, elements of my life can be sustained, yet, I was very naive to think decisions made just after the removal of a life threatening Cancer would be the very avenue adopted for the rest of my life. Yes, they well may be the foundations to base future decisions upon and a critical stage of development within my life, however, the uncertainty of what will surface in my future life seems to be lacking. To conclude, similar to the vision of Matthew McConaughey, I wish to never match the future version of myself, and the only way of achieving this is to continually evolve throughout time whilst overcoming any adversity faced.

Click the link to the see the speech in full: http://youtu.be/wD2cVhC-63I

Leave a Reply

