The war on Cancer

21st April 2015: Sydney

On 23rd December 1971, President of United State of America, Richard Nixon signed a declaration of war against Cancer. Now the question I ponder is whether the intelligence leading into the mission, if we can call it such, was at all informed. My reasoning is clearly demonstrated in recent statistics showing there has been no decrease in the percentage of people impacted by Cancer on an annual basis. In fact, current data suggests the complete opposite, with expectations of an increase to follow over the coming decade.

I am not the only person querying the outcomes of the war. A podcast titled, Life By Design, questioned whether the huge amounts of finances and brain power invested to the area has been directed in the most effective manner. A very valid point, when looking at the spike in numbers, and then considering the increase of toxins and chemicals in the environment; the growing population of people with obesity and other health concerns; a more sedentary approach adopted by many in the world, and the changes within the foods consumed over the past five generations. Consequently, I write this entry deflated, thinking we are left in the predicament resulting from limited research being placed on alternate forms of treatment compared to the attention placed on pharmaceutical interventions. I completely recognise the hypocrisy in the above statement, particularly bearing in mind my current dependency on chemotherapy, however, a definite motivation exists in relation to the need for large studies be conducted to test the accuracy in the claims many people make about Cancer treatment. Prior to finishing, acknowledgement and attention on the progression made for some types of Cancer is essential, and it is the very reason for strongly believing people should adopt an integrative approach into their entire experience.

2 thoughts on “The war on Cancer

  1. I also am for integrative treatment. I like to think of it as unlikely marriage of two modalities. I had chemo, radiation, and surgery for my cancer, but I’ve always relied on natural, holistic therapies, before and after treatment. I just felt for cancer, I had to rely on the big guns and let them do what they do and afterward rely on the other to alleviate some of the damage. Re Nixon, he wasn’t exactly notorious for truth telling…

    Like

    • Hi, thanks for your comments. I am fortunate to have a professor overseeing my care who supports me to ensure an integrative approach exists to my entire experience. Totally agree, when it comes to the appearance or reoccurrence of a Cancer, I have also followed all advice. Yes, he wasn’t known for honesty, did think it was an interesting reference point though. Once again, thanks for stopping by 😄

      Like

Leave a Reply

