Jess Ainscough, the wellness warrior

10th March 2015: Sydney Australia

I weighed myself today, showing I have gained 1.6kg over the past month. An indicator suggesting my body is recovering and thriving. A point of particular importance, especially when hearing the news of Jess Ainscough, aka, the wellness warrior has passed away. Her death both saddened and shocked me whilst bringing to surface the confronting potential of what could await in my life. Regularly, I speak of future plans, and see my current state as a temporary period I will overcome, yet, the fragility of life shown at certain times can easily cause a formation of cloud to hover around my consciousness. The reason for feeling as such for a person I have never encountered results from the reading of her book and the motivation sought from her story in prompting me into making better health decisions.

I acknowledge some of the information she is associated with does not align with my personal approach to health, however, I believe information obtained from her readings should not be discarded. One particular point from her story regards the duration of time I will remain on treatment. There is always going to be fierce debate on this topic, especially with the differing opinions received over the past year in relation to timeframes. In summary, the current information I have read shows no weight in the research that supports the use of Mitotane in the longterm to promote my survival. Admittedly, there is some evidence showing the effectiveness of the drug, however, many flaws exist in the research, and does not provide sufficient evidence to suggest the results will be applicable to my circumstances.

Thoughts go out to family and friends of Jess Ainscough x

Leave a Reply

