Am I drug addict or just reliant on drugs to survive?

25th February, 2015: Sydney Australia

Prior to sleeping last night, a chain of thinking brought to surface a reality in my life about a perceived reliance and newly formed rigidity resulting from the need for pills to be consumed at set intervals throughout the day.

Interestingly, a link to this perceived reliance stems to the corresponding period last year whereby the drug Endone, an opium based pain-relief medicine was essential in managing the period following my surgery. A number of vivid images come to mind when thinking of the time when I was taking Endone, most notably, the ability of the drug to quickly take away the intense throbbing pain associated with the weeping wound. For many weeks post discharge, a typical day would commence at approximately 3am whereby I would painfully reach over to the tablets next to my bed before going back to sleep. The next moment of pain were experienced in the morning when a dishevelled version of myself would be seen to walk upstairs with a sour look on my face. At the time, it seems the face signalled a chain of events to occur, starting with my mum immediately giving me the necessary pills whilst also starting a massage on my back to help reduce any pain. It should be noted that a husky grunt or groan were the only noises heard till I was able to verbally communicate. Usually, the primitive form of communication would last forty minutes till any sort of food would be considered, and just like now, planning would then centre around the timing for having my next set of pills whilst in complete contradiction a battle was ongoing in my mind based on timeframes for when I would no longer be taking any drugs.

I opt for the term reliance, due specifically to both a physical and mental need to consume my current prescription of drugs. Personal observations have brought to mind the switch when recognising I am late taking the pills. It is apparent a psychosomatic reaction is triggered, particularly in relation to the required dose of Cortisol. For instance, any sign of fatigue or nausea is always represented to be directly caused from not adhering to the scheduling of my tablets. Consequently, a sense of urgency rushes throughout my thinking till I have consumed the drugs. I do see some merit in my reaction, especially as my body only obtains the necessary Cortisol in an artificial form, however, I have difficulty accepting the concept of the seemingly adept ability of my body to perform at a usual level till it registers that I am late taking the dose, and that very knowledge places me in the position whereby I see my life revolving around a routine of drugs. A point I do not wish to feature for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

