Time for a social/personal experiment..

14th January 2015: Sydney, Australia

The topic of isolation versus support could always raise interesting reactions regarding the feelings people have throughout varying periods within their lives. In keeping with the umbrella concept governing this series of entries, I suggest the topic is especially important for people who have experienced Cancer. I believe the importance stems from what I deem the secondary factors of Cancer. The factors representing the complete impact of Cancer, not only the illness, but more specifically attention on the consequences of the experience, factors such as ones future outlook, relationships, finance, employment, mental health, physical health, sexual activity, etc.

It seems I am regarding Cancer above other stressors or life events, however, should the matter of relativity not be raised as I think it is unfair to scale Cancer above mental health concerns, difficultly with child rearing, divorce or other stressors? If the previous statement does hold weight, then is not the whole first passage about secondary factors now invalid or would it be better to take a more wholesome approach to all matters, seeing the secondary factors attached to any concern an individual faces?

I have digressed from the main point of isolation versus support, and must say the thought of a quiet hut with limited people, good waves and real food seems so appealing, however, is not the support from family and friends plus my place of residence not the drawing card for me living here? I have mentioned many times the contradictions within my life, and the number of questions I have posed throughout this one entry would indicate a level of accuracy in that statement. The matter of isolation versus support derives from a wanting to have or to be somewhere else. If one option is not available, i.e. isolation then it becomes the point of interest, however, when reversed, does the longing for all the home comforts then not become the main point in the mind? Again I am left with a question needing an answer, and it seems the only way of resolving this theory is by actually testing it. Therefore, I have decided to await the outcomes of inquires in regards to my project, then I will opt to move for a short period of time to a small hut, with waves and real food to eat. It does seem rather naive and a little immature, and admittedly, it is the starting point of a plan that will surely expand as discussions needs to be made with my girlfriend for what the future holds.

Leave a Reply

